Like Ra's Naughty Forum

Full Version: What do you think about VPNs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Let's have a look at VPNs. Do you use VPNs for accessing Internet sites? Experience? Is it worth it?

(Thanks to @"Sofia_B" for the idea)

Related threads:
I have a yearly subscription to Private Internet Access. I don't normally need to use it but I keep the Socks 5 proxy login details in whatever torrent client I'm using. Also, there are a couple of times where I was being blocked from browsing a site and had to turn the VPN on in order to proceed normally.
Most people I know use VPN for the wrong reasons. I used to have a ssh tunnel to a VPS I was renting to get passed blocked sites at work, they blocked gmail, youtube, spotify... Now I'm working from home so I don't need it anymore 😊
Mullvad. Every time.
I used to be a VPN fanatic due to the Great Chinese firewall, it allowed me to watch YouTube in China which was of great help to my ability to speak English. Of all the VPN that existed at the time expressvpn was the best at that job.

When I arrived at the US it honestly became useless, I don't have anything that needs hiding beyond my search history from being seen by people around me. That is as trivial as using your phone to do the deed.
The "revbits" link above is really no more than a camouflaged advertisement for the service of the outfit who owns that site, so you should discard it immediately and without further consideration.

5 years ago, there used to be a fairly reliable resource, ThatOnePrivacyGuy, who ran a site where he posted a fairly large and painstakingly assembled spreadsheet comparing the key features and security/trust metrics for several dozen VPNs.  But it appears that he basically sold out sometime after July 2019.